Smiling headshots side by side of District 8 Supervisor Rafael Mandelman and District 7 Supervisor Myrna Melgar

Supervisors Mandelman and Melgar Elected Chair and Vice-Chair

During the first Transportation Authority Board meeting of the year, District 8 Supervisor Rafael Mandelman was re-elected as Chair and District 7 Supervisor Myrna Melgar as Vice-Chair. The leadership team will guide the agency’s transportation policy, funding, planning, and project delivery efforts in the coming year. 

Chair Mandelman has served as Chair since 2021 and Supervisor Melgar succeeds Supervisor Aaron Peskin in the Vice-Chair role.

“I look forward to working with colleagues, staff, and partners as we collaborate with the public to expand access, advance equity, and improve safety citywide,” said Chair Mandelman. “All these priorities will require significant investment, much of which will come from the city’s newly extended half-cent sales tax for transportation. I want to reiterate my gratitude to the voters of San Francisco for passing Proposition L last November. That proposition will direct $2.6 billion over 30 years to help deliver safer, smoother streets, more reliable transit, continue paratransit services for seniors and persons with disabilities, reduce congestion, and improve air quality.”

The Transportation Authority will pursue several important initiatives this year, including addressing the transit “fiscal cliff” that Muni, BART, and Caltrain face as federal transit operations funding winds down, planning for a Bayview Caltrain station, advancing Caltrain’s connection to the Salesforce Transit Center and exploring the potential for a 19th Avenue/Geary corridor subway.

The agency is finalizing delivery of the Yerba Buena Island Southgate Road Realignment project and will soon break ground on the adjacent West Side Bridges Retrofit project. On Treasure Island, staff will conduct an autonomous shuttle pilot, the first demonstration of autonomous vehicle shuttles transporting members of the public on public roadways in California.

This year agency staff will also move ahead with significant neighborhood-based transportation improvements, including completing access and safety studies for Octavia Boulevard and Ocean Avenue while starting transportation studies in Districts 1, 2, 4 (On-Demand Shuttle Study), 7, and 11 (Brotherhood Way).

The Transportation Authority Board consists of the 11 members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, who elect a chair and vice-chair each January and act as Transportation Authority Board Members.

Sign up for our monthly newsletter, The Messenger, to stay updated on our work.

Transportation Authority 2022 Annual Report Released 

This month the Transportation Authority also approved the 2022 Annual Report which provides a review of the agency's activities throughout the past year.