Contact: Eric Young, San Francisco County Transportation Authority 
Office: 415-522-4816
Cell: 415-306-4509

Download this press release (PDF)

SAN FRANCISCO, CA – The San Francisco County Transportation Authority Board today elected Commissioner Aaron Peskin as its Chair for 2017. Created by voters in 1989, the Transportation Authority administers the city’s half-cent transportation sales tax and serves as the congestion management agency for San Francisco.

Chair Peskin will lead the agency which plans, funds and delivers a range of transportation improvements at a time when local and regional transit agencies seek to bolster capacity and repair aging infrastructure, and the city looks to advance its focus on traffic safety, affordability and reliability.

“I want to thank my colleagues for selecting me to lead the Transportation Authority at a critical juncture when we will need to make tough choices as we prioritize our many local and regional projects and programs,” said Chair Aaron Peskin. “We must chart a vision for San Francisco that balances the needs of our existing and anticipated residents, while ensuring that we prioritize strategic investments that will keep San Francisco affordable, sustainable and accessible. I’m committed to a more engaged and engaging Transportation Authority Commission and am excited to introduce enhancements to our oversight of taxpayer funds, including through the use of independent third party budget analysis. I look forward to collaborating with my fellow Commissioners, staff and partner agencies to improve maintenance of our existing transportation infrastructure and to focus investment in our core systems - particularly transit, walking and cycling. All of this must be done with a Transit Equity focus, appropriate community outreach to the neighborhoods we represent and a rigorous commitment to generating sustainable, progressive local and regional revenue sources. I look forward to the collaborative work ahead.”

Commissioner Katy Tang was elected Vice-Chair of the Transportation Authority Board for 2017.

The Transportation Authority Board consists of the 11 members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, who elect a chair each January and act as Transportation Authority Commissioners.

Chair Peskin succeeds Scott Wiener, who was elected to the California State Senate in November 2016.

In a separate action, the Treasure Island Mobility Management Agency (TIMMA) elected Commissioner Jane Kim as its Chair and elected Commissioner Norman Yee as its Vice-Chair for 2017.

TIMMA is responsible for creating and implementing a sustainable transportation plan for Treasure Island in support of up to 8,000 residential units and new commercial and open space. TIMMA is overseen by the Board of Supervisors acting as the agency’s Commissioners.

About the San Francisco County Transportation Authority

Created in 1989, the San Francisco County Transportation Authority (SFCTA) is responsible for longrange transportation planning for the city, and it analyzes, designs and funds improvements for San Francisco’s roadway and public transportation networks. The SFCTA administers and oversees the delivery of the Prop K half-cent local transportation sales tax program and the Prop AA $10 annual vehicle registration fee program, serves as the designated Congestion Management Agency (CMA) for San Francisco, under state law, and acts as the San Francisco Program Manager for grants from the Transportation Fund for Clean Air (TFCA). The SFCTA Board consists of the eleven members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, who act as SFCTA Commissioners. For more information about SFCTA, visit