

BD101822

RESOLUTION APPROVING THE TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY'S PROJECT PRIORITIES FOR THE SENATE BILL 1 LOCAL PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM COMPETITIVE GRANT PROGRAM

WHEREAS, On April 28, 2017, the Governor of California signed the Road Repair and Accountability Act of 2017, also known as Senate Bill 1; and

WHEREAS, Among other things, Senate Bill 1 created the Local Partnership Program (LPP) and appropriates \$200 million annually to be allocated by the California Transportation Commission (CTC) to local or regional agencies that have sought and received voter approval of, or imposed fees solely dedicated to transportation; and

WHEREAS, On August 18, 2022, the CTC adopted LPP program guidelines that allocate 40% or \$72 million annually through a Competitive Program to local and regional transportation agencies that sought and received voter approval of transportation sales taxes, tolls, or that have imposed fees; and

WHEREAS, On August 18, 2022, the CTC released the LPP call for projects for the Competitive Program, covering Fiscal Years (FYs) 2023/24 through 2024/25, with applications due on November 29, 2022 and \$144 million available statewide; and

WHEREAS, The San Francisco County Transportation Authority (Transportation Authority) is an eligible applicant as it administers the Proposition K half-cent local transportation sales tax program approved by San Francisco voters in November 2003, and Proposition AA, an additional \$10 vehicle registration fee approved by San Francisco voters in November 2010, both with revenues dedicated solely to transportation; and

WHEREAS, LPP Competitive Program funds are available for construction only and require a dollar-for-dollar match; and

WHEREAS, The CTC will give higher priority to projects that are more cost-effective, can commence construction earlier, leverage more committed funds per program dollar, demonstrate quantifiable air quality improvements including a significant reduction in vehicle-miles traveled, demonstrate regional and community support, improve safety and current system conditions, and advance transportation, land use, and housing goals as identified in the region's Regional Transportation Plan; and



BD101822

WHEREAS, The LPP program guidelines allow eligible applicants to identify a different entity as implementing agency, which assumes responsibility and accountability for the use and expenditure of program funds as established by the CTC; and

WHEREAS, The Transportation Authority received requests to support the nomination of two projects from the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit Authority (BART) and San Francisco Public Works (SFPW) as detailed in Attachments 1 and 2; and

WHEREAS, Transportation Authority staff, working in coordination with staff from the Mayor's Office, considered the LPP Competitive Program guidelines, and assessed each project's potential to be competitive in this funding cycle; and

WHEREAS, Transportation Authority staff recommend submitting project applications to the CTC for the LPP Competitive Program in the following priority order: (1) BART's Next Generation Fare Gates Project and (2) SFPW's Transbay Howard Streetscape Project; and

RESOLVED, That the Transportation Authority hereby approves the agency's project priorities for the LPP Competitive Program as shown in Attachment 1; and

RESOLVED, That as a condition of submitting project applications for the approved project priorities to the LPP Competitive Program, the Executive Director shall impose such terms and conditions as are necessary for BART and SFPW, the implementing agencies, to comply with LPP guidelines including, but not limited to timely use of funds and reporting requirements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Transportation Authority hereby authorizes the Executive Director to execute agreements designating BART and SFPW as the implementing agencies for the recommended projects.

Attachments:

- 1. Project Nominations for LPP Competitive Program
- 2. Project Information Forms



BD101822

RESOLUTION NO. 23-15

The foregoing Resolution was approved and adopted by the San Francisco County Transportation Authority at a regularly scheduled meeting thereof, this 25th day of October, 2022, by the following votes:

> Commissioners Chan, Mandelman, Mar, Melgar, Peskin, Ayes:

> > Preston, Ronen, Safai, and Walton (9)

Nays:

Commissioners Dorsey and Stefani (2) Absent:

DocuSianed by: 10/31/2022 3235B3A057A3450. Rafael Mandelman Date

Chair

ATTEST:

DocuSigned by: 10/31/2022 Tilly Chang FFD2528AB8BE49B Tilly Chang Date

Executive Director