1455 Market Street, 22ND Floor, San Francisco, CA 94103 415-522-4800 info@timma.org www.timma.org

DRAFT MINUTES

TREASURE ISLAND MOBILITY MANAGEMENT AGENCY

Tuesday, January 12, 2021

1. Roll Call

Chair Haney called the meeting to order at 11:04 a.m.

Present at Roll Call: Commissioners Chan, Haney, Mandelman, Mar, Melgar, Peskin, Preston, Ronen, Stefani, and Walton (10)

Absent at Roll Call: Commissioner Safai (1)

2. Chair's Report - INFORMATION

Chair Haney acknowledged and thanked the Commissioners Walton and Mandelman for serving with him on the TIMMA committee. He highlighted last year's major milestone - the groundbreaking of South Gate Interchange at the top of the island in June, a \$64 million project that will increase safety for all road uses, especially bicycles and pedestrians going to/from the east span of the Bay Bridge and connecting with local roads. Chair Haney further discussed a related highlight on the funding side of the project was the receipt of \$34 million from two different State of California grants for the development of the bicycle path on Hillcrest Road, and he was hoping the agency could expand the path down to the new ferry terminal at Treasure Island and connect people to an all-electric ferry to downtown San Francisco in the very near future. He also reported the agency obtained Federal Highway Administration approval for the testing of an autonomous on-island shuttle, funded by a federal technology grant, to be procured later this year. Chair Haney said he hoped to showcase island businesses to local San Francisco and Bay Area visitors. In addition, he said the federal grant will fund the tolling system in 2023 together with the on-island shuttle and East Bay transit service.

Chair Haney also recounted that in December 2020, the TIMMA heard options for implementing the Board-adopted toll exemption for current residents, along with affordability programs to support the Treasure Island workers and employers. He reported that outreach would commence in February on those proposals, with consideration of final toll policies in the spring and summer, and expectation of arrival of the first new residents to Yerba Buena Island in the fall. Chair Haney further commented that TIMMA will need to be more focused on delivering infrastructure safety and transit benefits early to support a growing community. He said there will be many critical decisions over the next few months – how the future low-income residents will be considered in tolling policy and new infrastructure; and how the workers, businesses, and restaurants fit into the new transit systems. Chair Haney concluded that he looked forward to working with the rest of the TIMMA Board, TIDA, residents, and businesses in grappling these decisions, as well as noting the upcoming hearing at the Land Use Committee on some of the ongoing cleanup and environmental questions and concerns on the island.

There was no public comment.

3. Executive Director's Report - INFORMATION

Tilly Chang, Executive Director, presented the item.

There was no public comment.

4. Approve the Minutes of the September 22, 2020 Meetings - ACTION

There was no public comment.

Commissioner Walton moved to approve the minutes, seconded by Commissioner Melgar.

The minutes were approved without objection by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Chan, Haney, Mandelman, Mar, Melgar, Peskin, Preston, Ronen, Stefani, and Walton (10)

Absent: Commissioner Safai (1)

5. Election of Chair and Vice Chair for 2021 - ACTION

Chair Haney called for nominations for the Chair and Vice Chair for 2021.

Commissioner Walton nominated Commissioner Haney for Chair, seconded by Commissioner Preston.

There was no public comment.

The nomination was approved without objection by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Chan, Haney, Mandelman, Mar, Melgar, Peskin, Preston, Ronen, Stefani, and Walton (10)

Absent: Commissioner Safai (1)

Chair Haney nominated Commissioner Mandelman for Vice Chair, seconded by Commissioner Melgar.

There was no public comment.

The nomination was approved without objection by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Chan, Haney, Mandelman, Mar, Melgar, Peskin, Preston, Ronen, Stefani, and Walton (10)

Absent: Commissioner Safai (1)

Other Items

6. Introduction of New Items - INFORMATION

There were no new items introduced.

7. Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 11:18 a.m.