1455 Market Street, 22nd Floor San Francisco, California 94103 415.522.4800 FAX 415.522.4829 info@sfcta.org www.sfcta.org

PRESS RELEASE

## Scott Wiener Elected Chair of Transportation Authority Board

Commissioner assumes leadership post as agency celebrates 25 years

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, January 27, 2015

CONTACT: Eric Young, SFCTA 415.522.4816 (office) 415.306.4509 (cell) eric.young@sfcta.org



Plan, Fund, Deliver

SAN FRANCISCO, CA—The San Francisco County Transportation Authority Board today elected Commissioner Scott Wiener chair for 2015. Created by voters in 1989, the Transportation Authority administers the half-cent transportation sales tax and serves as congestion management agency for San Francisco. The agency is celebrating its 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary this year.

As chair, Wiener will help lead the agency in its work around San Francisco and regional transit, as well as preside over the Transportation Authority's monthly meetings and will appoint the members and chairs of three standing committees and one special purpose select committee.

"I am honored to be chosen by my colleagues to lead the Transportation Authority at this critical time for our city and region," said Chair Wiener. "San Francisco and the Bay Area generally, are at transportation crossroads. Our city and region are growing and creating severe strains on our transit systems. We need to keep up by aggressively investing in the capacity and reliability of our transit systems and by making our streets safer. To accomplish these goals, we must continue to collaborate with our partner agencies, both in San Francisco and around the region, and invest wisely in the maintenance, safety, and efficiency of our transportation system to ensure healthy neighborhoods and to meet the demands of our vibrant and growing economy."

## COMMISSIONERS

Scott Wiener

Malia Cohen

John Avalos

London Breed

David Campos Julie Christensen

Mark Farrell

nan ranen

Jane Kim Eric Mar

Katy Tang

Norman Yee

Tilly Chang

PRESS RELEASE:

## Page 2 of 2

The Transportation Authority Board consists of the 11 members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, who elect a chair each January and act as Transportation Authority Commissioners.

Commissioner Wiener succeeds John Avalos, who served as Chair for the past two years, and assumes the chair position after serving as vice chair of the Transportation Authority Board in 2014. Wiener brings deep transportation knowledge and experience to the post, being one of San Francisco's two representatives on the regional Metropolitan Transportation Commission and also representing the city on the Golden Gate Bridge, Highway and Transportation District.

About the San Francisco County Transportation Authority (www.sfcta.org)

Created in 1989, the Transportation Authority spearheads strategic planning and allocates funding for transportation-related projects in San Francisco. The Transportation Authority administers the city's Prop. K half-cent transportation sales tax, the Prop AA \$10 annual vehicle registration fee program and the Transportation Fund for Clean Air. The Transportation Authority also serves as San Francisco's Congestion Management Agency and is the Treasure Island Mobility Management Agency. The Transportation Authority Board consists of the 11 members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, who act as Transportation Authority Commissioners. Commissioner Scott Wiener is Chair of the Board. Tilly Chang is the Transportation Authority's Executive Director.

###