1455 Market Street, 22nd Floor San Francisco, California 94103 415.522.4800 FAX 415.522.4829 info@sfcta.org www.sfcta.org

PRESS RELEASE

San Francisco County Transportation Authority Chair Scott Wiener Reelected to Second Term, Outlines Major Initiatives for 2016

Jane Kim also reelected to lead Treasure Island Mobility Management Agency

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 27, 2016

CONTACT:

Eric Young, SFCTA 415.522.4816 (office) 415.306.4509 (cell) eric.young@sfcta.org



SAN FRANCISCO, CA— The San Francisco County Transportation Authority Board yesterday reelected Commissioner Scott Wiener as its Chairperson for 2016. The Transportation Authority Board also elected Commissioner Eric Mar as Vice-Chair. Created by voters in 1989, the Transportation Authority plans, funds and delivers transportation improvements citywide and in partnership with regional agencies.

Plan, Fund, Deliver

In the coming year, Chair Wiener indicated he would focus on improving transit, increasing traffic safety and securing local and regional revenues for transportation investment, such as a planned regional BART bond and local San Francisco transportation measure.

Chair Wiener said, "I am honored to lead the Transportation Authority as we conduct once-in-ageneration transit planning studies and work collaboratively with our partner agencies and the public to deliver the next generation of sustainable transportation infrastructure for our city."

The Transportation Authority Board consists of the 11 members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, who act as Transportation Authority Commissioners.

In addition to leading the Transportation Authority, Chair Wiener serves on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission and represents San Francisco on the Golden Gate Bridge, Highway and Transportation District.

In a separate action yesterday, the Treasure Island Mobility Management Agency (TIMMA) also reelected Chair Jane Kim and elected Commissioner John Avalos as Vice-Chair for 2016.

The TIMMA is responsible for creating and implementing a sustainable transportation plan for Treasure Island in support of up to 8,000 residential units and new commercial and open space. The TIMMA is overseen by the Board of Supervisors acting as the agency's Commissioners.

COMMISSIONERS

Scott Wiener CHAIR

Eric Mar

John Avalos

London Breed

David Campos

Malia Cohen

Mark Farrell

Jane Kim

Aaron Peskin

Katy Tang

Norman Yee

Tilly Chang

PRESS RELEASE:

Page 2 of 2

About the San Francisco County Transportation Authority (sfcta.org)

Created in 1989, the Transportation Authority conducts long-range planning and allocates funding for transportation projects in San Francisco. The Transportation Authority administers the city's half-cent transportation sales tax, the Prop AA \$10 annual vehicle registration fee program and the Transportation Fund for Clean Air. The Transportation Authority also serves as San Francisco's Congestion Management Agency and is the designated Treasure Island Mobility Management Agency. The Transportation Authority Board consists of the 11 members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, who act as Transportation Authority Commissioners. Commissioner Scott Wiener is Chair of the Board. Tilly Chang is the Transportation Authority's Executive Director.

###